Generate screenshots randomly every 5 minutes while the timer is running.
Note: Windows and Mac desktop apps have integrated screenshots.
Screenshots is only available in premium plan.
Data gathering and privacy
Screenshots can’t be recorded without user’s knowledge. In order to record screenshots:
- Admin has to enable “Activate screenshot capturing” in workspace settings
- All workspace members will receive a notification when screenshot capturing is enabled via both the web and the desktop app
- User has to install the screenshot tracking app
- Screenshots are taken only while the timer is running (no matter from where you started the timer) AND you have the screenshot tracking app installed
- Screenshots are captured once every 5 minutes, at a random moment
- Screenshots are low-resolution and blurred by default for privacy and security reasons
- Each regular user can see all their screenshots. Admin sees all screenshots in the workspace
- Each screenshot is tied to a time entry. If the time entry is deleted, its screenshots are deleted also
- You can view screenshots for the past 7 days. All screenshots older than 7 days are deleted forever automatically.
To capture screenshots, you need to install the desktop app for Mac or Windows.
Once installed, you’ll need to log in and start the timer.
Screenshots are captured randomly in every 5-minute interval while the timer is running and the desktop app is active.
If you have the timer running on the web or mobile, but the desktop app is not running (or you aren’t logged in), screenshots won’t be captured.
Note for Mac: When Mac prompts you, you have to allow Tack to take screenshots. If you click Deny, you’ll have to go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Screen Recording and check Tack app.
When screenshots are enabled, all users in the workspace will see the Tracker > Screenshot page in the menu.
Regular users can see all their personal screenshots, and admins can see everyone’s.
If a person has screenshots, you can click on their name or the expand icon in the right corner to see the screenshots and when each was recorded.
To see screenshots for other days, click on < or > in the upper left corner (you can go back up to past 7 days).
Both admins and regular users can delete screenshots by clicking on the trash icon when you hover over some screenshot.
If a time entry that has a screenshot is deleted by users or admin, all its screenshots are deleted automatically. If a user deletes their account, all their screenshots are deleted also.
All screenshots older than 7 days are deleted forever automatically.
There is no undo when a screenshot is deleted. Each delete is permanent and non-retrievable.